California Community College faculty have stepped up and quickly adapted during the COVID-19 pandemic to transition to remote and online instruction. FACCC is advocating for the following priorities on behalf of our faculty members who are ensuring California's Community Colleges continue to provide high-quality and accessible education during this public health crisis:  

Election Priorities

  • Proposition 15, also known as “The California Schools and Local Communities Funding Act of 2020,” would amend the California Constitution to tax commercial and industrial properties, except those zoned as commercial agriculture, based on market value. If passed, this measure is estimated to generate between $8 billion and $12.5 billion in revenue per year with much of that funding going to schools and community colleges. 
    Take action now! Sign up to phone bank for Schools & Communities First here.
  • Proposition 16 would repeal Proposition 209, which banned affirmative action in California. Passage of this initiative would allow colleges and public employers to consider race, gender, ethnicity, and nationality in their admittance and hiring practices.
  • Support faculty champion candidates running for the State Assembly and State Senate.

Legislative Priorities

  • AB 2884 (Berman) would expand the use of restricted lottery funds to include funding for students’ basic needs.
  • AB 897 (Medina) would increase the total load a part-time faculty member may work from 67 percent of a full-time load to 80 to 85 percent.

Budget Priorities

  • Protect funding for California Community Colleges while prioritizing access so no student is turned away during an economic recession. 
  • Increase funding for part-time faculty health benefits and compensation during and after the public health crisis. 
  • Remove the performance-based funding element of the Student Centered Funding Formula.
  • Reallocate Calbright funding to increase investment in the CVC/OEI and boost online education funding for existing colleges.